Waste Free Week – Round up

Well Waste Free week is all finished. I was literally to embarrassed to rummage through my rubbish before I put it out on Friday because we had a bit of a spring clean at home and the amount of crap that was floating around was astounding. The other thing I need to do is better educate the rest of the family. We become so accustomed to living in a throw away world we need a shake every now and then.

In saying this I don’t think the challenge was a waste of time. It has made me far more packaging conscious, which is no bad thing. I’m going to try to be as careful as I can in future. Like a smoker trying to quit I think there are going to be some hiccups along the way but so long as the trend is downwards I’m happy we are on a winner.

So for me being waste free will require a change in mindset. What about you?

PS: The funniest thing to happen was buying disposable paper plates and cups for my birthday party and then realising they were, as you guessed, wrapped in plastic.  Doh.

This entry was posted in Green Party, Personal Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

