Waste Free Week – Dealing with garden waste

I often see garden waste being out in the rubbish. This seems crazy to me given how easy it seems to dispose of garden waste on site.

What I do is have a compost bin for anything day-to-day garden waste that I can’t give to the chickens or worms. This doesn’t amount too much because the chickens deal to all my lawn clippings, which is the bulk of my garden waste.

Happy chickens

Happy chickens

For the waste that I get from pruning trees and bushes I put under the avocado tree and once the greenery has dropped off, use the woody waste to start the fire during winter.

For those of you that know me you will be aware that I don’t have a perfect garden. I’m fond of saying that I’m letting it revert back to nature. But to me being as self-sustaining as possible is more important that having everything weeded to perfection.

 

This entry was posted in Green Party, Personal Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

