Think Local – Buy Local

This morning I went down to finish my Father Christmas shopping. I try hard to support local retailers as much as possible, rather than frequent chain stores. I like to touch what I buy, and I can have the most interesting conversations with these business owners as they are experiencing globalisation first hand. They even wrap my presents for me.

When I was at the bookshop (Beattie & Forbes in Tennyson Street, Napier) I was told that some people come in and photograph the books so they can buy them online! Perhaps I’m just old-fashioned but I find this incredibly cheeky and unethical and frankly these sorts of people piss me off.

Why You Should Love Your Local Retailer

Why You Should Love Your Local Retailer

But local retailers are fighting back and Beattie and Forbes had this bookmark giveaway on their counter which I found inspiring. So think local, buy local and you do some good.

This entry was posted in Green Party, Personal Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

