My Smartmeter Experience

I’ve had a number of people approach me about smart meters. After watching ‘Take Back Your Power’ they were concerned about health risks associated with them being fitted.

I recalled getting a letter from Energy On Line saying we were due to have one of these meters fitted and as I wasn’t keen on one until they have been proved safe I fitted put a sticker on the front of my meter which read “Fitting of smart meter is unauthorised – see owner inside”

Smart Meter SignageThis proved to be very effective as not even a week later the installer turned up. I suppose it was lucky that I was home but all he did was take a photo of the sign so he could explain to his boss why he hadn’t done the job at my place.

To further add to the tale, our meter reader turned up today and he took a photo as well so he could put the same sign on his meter box. He wasn’t keen on smart meters either.

Remember that you are under no obligation to accept a smart meter. You can decline to have one if you wish.

This entry was posted in Personal Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

