Retrospective on 2012 – BayFm 20 Dec 2012

Kia Ora all, I’m Paul Bailey, Green Party spokesperson for Hawkes Bay and I’ve been thinking about how busy 2012 has been because when I look back on 2012 it strikes me that this could be the last year of Hawkes Bay as we know it.

Not only is this government pushing its drill it, mine it agenda, it is also encouraging the construction of the white elephant that is the Ruataniwhia Dam. By continuing on the with Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement negotiations, this government is also putting our GE free status at risk.

After only 12 months the word fracking enters common usage

After only 12 months the word fracking enters common usage

The mothballing of the Napier Gisborne rail line, the clearance of state houses without replacement plans, and continually blaming beneficiaries for not feeding their kids without addressing the underlying causes is indicative of this governments short term view on the Hawkes Bay economy.

But there are alternatives, and one of the things I have learnt in 2012 is that I need to be more proactive in raising awareness of just how effective a green economy can be.

So my new years resolution is to make further investment in putting together a study which shows that;

  • we don’t need to put our aquifers at risk by fracking Hawkes Bay,
  • we don’t need a dam which allows more nitrogen in our waterways to save the TukiTuki,
  • and that being GE Free is of greater economic advantage to the Hawkes Bay than rolling over and having our bellies scratched by Monsanto.

Another thing I have learnt in 2012 is just how many people out there do not agree with the direction the Hawkes Bay is headed, but recognise that making the same mistakes over and over again is not the solution. I am encouraged by the number of very interesting people I meet, from all shades of the political spectrum, who recognise that growth as we know it is not the solution, it is the problem.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the local Green Party members for their support over the year. I would not have been able to achieve what I have this year without them. I would especially like to thank Cnr Liz Remmeswell for being a beacon of light within the HBRC.

Thanks for listening, I’m Paul Bailey, Green Party Spokesperson for Hawkes Bay, wishing you a Merry Christmas and a frack free New Year.

This entry was posted in BayFm Commentary, Letters to Editor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

