The Brendon Horran affair – BayFM 13 Dec 2012

Kia Ora all, I’m Paul Bailey, Green Party spokesperson for Hawkes Bay and I’ve been thinking about the Brendon Horran affair.

One of things that stuck me about the expulsion of Brendon Horran from the NZ First caucus was just how robust are NZ First’s candidate selection procedures? The same could be said for most other parties when you look at the abilities and ethics of their MPs.

For example, whilst I’m not familiar with the candidate selection, or list ranking procedures of the  Labour party I do wonder why Stuart Nash ended up so low on Labour’s list.

When I was selected as Napier candidate at the last election I had to go through 3 separate interviews before my candidacy was confirmed. Each interview was more challenging than the last, and I recall saying to the final panel that it really felt like I had been put through the ringer.

Now I only put my name forward as an electorate candidate. If I had wanted to go on the list, I would have had to sell myself to all members of the Green Party as we all get to vote on each candidate’s position on the list, including the ranking of our leaders. Not that our leaders have ever been anything but 1 & 2 but we have had sitting MPs who have been booted off the list because they have not performed to expectations.

Every member gets this opportunity to vote on who goes on the list. and in what position. The only manipulation our executive can do to the rankings, is move a candidate up or down the list no more that 2 spaces to make sure we have the gender, ethnic and geographical mix our constitution demands.

This means our process is 100% democratic. As a candidate needs to be well known by the membership to get a high position on the list, only the most capable survive. I admit to being highly impressed with all of the Green Party MPs that I have met in terms of ability and personality, but not surprised, considering the hoops they have to jump though to get there.

So when you gripe about the ability of an MP it pays to give some thought as to how that MP got into parliament in the first place, and especially, how were they were selected by their party? I for one, have no confidence in back room deals being done to select our MPs.

Finally, you are all invited to join Green MP Gareth Hughes to discuss, the tax & rate payer funded East Coast Oil and Gas Development Study, the PCE report on fracking, and energy proposals post peak oil and what that means for Hawkes Bay. Meeting starts at 7pm, next Monday, 17th Dec, at the Havelock North Community Centre, 30 Te Mata Road, Havelock North

Thanks for listening, I’m Paul Bailey, Green Party Spokesperson for Hawkes Bay

This entry was posted in BayFm Commentary, Letters to Editor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Brendon Horran affair – BayFM 13 Dec 2012

  1. Pingback: The David Hay affair | Hawkes Bay Greenie

Leave a Reply

